Advancing new research

The Interlaken Leadership Awards


Recent news

CSL Behring Announces 2013 Interlaken Leadership Awards Recipients
Awards Recognize Scientists Pioneering the Study and Advancement of Immunoglobulin Therapy for Neurologic Disorders

CSL Behring announces the three recipients of the 2013 Interlaken Leadership Awards. Now in its third year, the Interlaken Leadership Awards program recognizes scientists whose proposals are likely to advance innovative medical research and knowledge about the potential role of immunoglobulin therapy in the treatment of neurologic disorders. The total value of ongoing awards is estimated to be more than $1 million USD.

CSL Behring created the Interlaken Leadership Awards program to support research designed to identify new potential clinical applications for polyvalent immunoglobulins, with the goal of improving the lives of patients who have disabling neurologic conditions.

The winners of the 2013 Interlaken Leadership Awards are:

  • Peter Novak, MD, PhD
    University of Massachusetts Medical School
    Treatment of Multiple System Atrophy (MSA) Using Intravenous Immunoglobulins

  • Professor Andrew Pollard, FRCPCH, PhD
    University of Oxford
    Intravenous Immunoglobulin in the Management of Encephalitis in Children

  • Min-Suk Yoon, MD, PhD
    Lab of Neuroimmunology, Ruhr-University, Bochum
    Effects of intrathecal application of human immunoglobulins (Igs) on Experimental Autoimmune Neuritis (EAN) Model in Rats as opposed to intraperitoneal application of Igs on clinical, electrophysiological and histological grounds.

The recipients of the Interlaken Leadership Awards were selected by a global, cross-functional CSL Behring review committee. The committee evaluated recipients based on scientific merit, strength of hypothesis, relevance to neuroimmunology and research feasibility.